Holy Moly Guacamole.

Well, has been for a month I haven’t written, I was on finals exams at UOT, five days after I went for vacations to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, and my laptop decided to crash just the second day I was there ready to blog more for you guys. By the way, thanks to everyone for all your kind words in your emails wondering what happened to the blog and me, I was just sipping refreshing margaritas and mimosas down there in Mexico., but now I am back!

A resume of my time off, I got 12 days of delicious Mexican food, sunny days at the sandy pacific beach under the Mexican sky and timeless happy moments with my best friend Julissa Rager, thanks babe, I got the best time of my life. Life changing.

While I was there, I Just discovered that Mezcal is the new trend in Mexico, tequila is kind of old fashion now and is used just to make refreshing margaritas. Still, a Mexican icon drink, don’t get me wrong on this., But when is coming to straight shots, Mezcal is the opening King of any party.

Anyway, back to the food topic, In the taco world experience, there is nothing better and tasty than a side of fresh homemade Guacamole.

Avocado is a tree that is native to south central Mexico; however, Avocados are commercially valuable and are cultivated in tropical and Mediterranean climates throughout the world.
Avocado is believed to have originated in the state of Puebla, Mexico, though fossil evidence suggests similar species were much more widespread millions of years ago, occurring as far north California when the climate of that region was more hospitable to them.

5 Facts about avocado:

1.-The word “avocado” comes from the Spanish aguacate, which in turn comes from the Nahuatl word āhuacatl [a:wakatl].

2.-Avocados are a fruit, not a vegetable. They belong to the Genus Persea in the Lauraceae family.

3.-Avocados contain four grams of protein, making them the fruit with the highest protein content! Gym bunnies…add it to your diet right now!.

4.-You can tell that an avocado is ripe when they feel heavy for their size and are dark in colour. If you want to quicken the ripening process, simply put one in brown paper bag for 2-4 days. You can speed this process up even more by putting adding a banana to the bag. I don’t know why…but it works hehe.

5.-Avocados mature on the tree, but only ripen once they are taken off the tree. and Hass is the most popular variety of avocado grown worldwide.

This green goodness has the highest fiber content of any fruit and contains vitamin B6, vitamin C, vitamin E, potassium, magnesium, and folate. So let’s start to eat more of this Mexican delicatessen and spread it everywhere in our life…well, at least in our food.

Here is the recipe.

 

Leave a Reply

